W believes that women are the strongest moving force behind today’s economy. The W Awards seeks to celebrate women who defy all odds to stand out successfully. The W team has developed a simple and transparent award process.

To understand the award process; please see the qualifying criteria for each category before you make your nominations.

Nominees will be judged by an independent panel of judges comprising seasoned professionals and entrepreneurs who have excelled in their fields and industries. They will be assessed based on a set of evaluation criteria.

Anyone can be great, but not everyone has the courage to be. Celebrate the woman who defies the odds to stand out successfully. Nominate a deserving woman today.

Award Process and Timeline:

Nomination period

August 24 – October 9
Nominations are accepted during this period. You can nominate yourself or another woman who you believe deserves to be recognized. This will be the first round of evaluation to select those who meet the minimum criteria for the awards. Therefore, it is important for those nominating to highlight the achievements of the nominee in clear terms as much as possible.

Power of 100

You can also nominate a woman who you believe has helped to shape Nigeria to be featured in the Power of 100.

Evaluation Process


  • Step 1: A shortlist of nominees is created

After accessing the online entries, the most outstanding nominees in each Award category will be shortlisted. The shortlisted nominees are invited for an interview either physically or via virtual communication.

  • Step 2: Panel Interviews are conducted

Shortlisted nominees are interviewed by the Judges so that they can tell more of their story and why they are deserving of the award.

Power of 100
The nominees for the ‘Power of 100’ will also be evaluated and qualifying candidates will be compiled for inclusion in the ‘Power of 100’ book.

Announcement of finalists

Three nominees are selected per category and announced on the website, all Access Bank’s official channels and in major national dailies.

Award gala


The Finalists for all categories are celebrated at an Awards ceremony and presented with commemorative certificates. The overall winners for each category are announced and presented with plaques at the Annual Access Leadership Conference.